pink beetroot hummus

So I had this party last saturday and I made some really good vegetarian dishes. I paired them with to kinds of sauce, both served cold and made the day before. This one I’m really exited to show you, mostly because it’s delicious but also because it’s hot pink. I love that color, it adds a very nice touch to your plate. Perfect to serve with salad, roasted veggies or simply as a dip. Did I mention it’s really easy and impressive at the same time?

This is what you’ll need

  • One drained can chickpeas
  • 3 roasted beetroots
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup olive oil (1,8 dl)
  • 3 tbsp tahini
  • salt & pepper

First off you’ll need to roast your beetroots, I bought some that already had been boiled so I could just slice them into wedges and put them in the oven with some olive oil and salt. They need 200 degrees celsius and 15 minuets.

beetroot

While they’re in the oven rinse your chickpeas and pour them into a bowl. Chop the garlic and add it to the bowl. Squeeze in some lemon juice (preferably fresh) and pour in the oil. Add the tahini, which is a sesame paste that you add for genuine hummus taste. When you’re done you mix it, I used my immersion blender but a mixer would work just as well.

Take the beetroots out of the oven and let them cool for a bit. When they’re not super hot you mix them with the hummus as well. It will turn a gorgeous pink and the beetroots will give the hummus a sweeter taste.

beetroot2

And it’s done! It’s a very good sandwich spread as well, I made vegan rolls with soy beans and baby spinach. A very tasty sandwich roll for all you vegans out there!

beetroot3

beetroot4

This is what it looked like when I served it at the dinner party. I would say it was a total hit! If you have a version of this recipe I would love to hear it!

Also I want to mention that I finished the knock off asos dress that I mentioned in my very first post. Photos and tutorial coming soon. So exited to show it, I’m so pleased! xo Pella

Leave a Reply

